National Signing Day 2014: 18 Friendship Collegiate Football Players Receive Scholarships

FEB. 12, 2014. On February 5, 2014, eighteen Friendship Collegiate football players signed letters of intent to play college football. Eighteen scholarships were earned by Friendship football players.

Highly regarded players Jalen Tabor, Dae Juan Funderburke and Jonathan Haden (who was not present) signed with nationally recognized schools such as the University of Florida, West Virginia University and Arizona University.

Ms. Peggy Jones, Head Principal of Friendship Collegiate Academy opened the program and spoke about Friendship’s mission “to provide a world-class education” to every student.  Ms. Jones also talked about the importance of a college education.

Head Football Coach Aazaar Abdul-Rahim spoke about the “blessing” of receiving a scholarship and the opportunity to excel—not only athletically but also academically.

There was a common theme among the speeches given by the student-athletes who thanked their families, teachers, administrators, FPCS staff and coaches for their support.

Coach Rahim and his staff have built Friendship’s football program into a national power. Over the past 6 years Friendship football players have earned 98 college scholarships.

As proof of Coach Rahim’s impact, all you had to do was look to the back of the gymnasium where former Collegiate stars Albert Reid, Cavon Walker, Jermaine Carter, and Derwin Gray were standing.  They all now play football for the University of Maryland.  Coach Rahim seemed surprised but was obviously happy to see his former players.

FPC S Chairman, Mr. Donald Hense closed the program stating that “on behalf of the Board of Trustees and our teachers, we are confident that they [the football players] will carry on Friendship’s tradition of being student athletes.”

Delonte Inniss is a sophomore and Noel Spencer is a junior at Friendship Collegiate Academy.